## <u>COURT-I</u>

#### IN THE APPELLATE TRIBUNAL FOR ELECTRICITY (APPELLATE JURISDICTION)

## IA NO. 347 OF 2017 IN DFR NO. 1214 OF 2017

Dated: 16<sup>th</sup> August, 2017

## Present: Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Ranjana P. Desai, Chairperson Hon'ble Mr. I.J. Kapoor, Technical Member

#### In the matter of:

Punjab Energy Development Agency Vs. Punjab State Electricity Regulatory Commission &Ors.				Appellant(s)
				Respondent(s)
Counsel for the Appellant(s)	:	Mr. Aditya Grover Mr. R.K. Gupta, Sr.	.Mana	ger for PEDA
Counsel for the Respondent(s)	:	Mr. Sakesh Kumar Mr. Devendran for R-1		
		Mr. Anand K. Gane	esan	

Ms. Swapna Seshadri for PSPCL

Mr. Anurag Sharma for R-3

# <u>ORDER</u>

#### IA NO. 347 OF 2017 (For Condonation of Delay in filing)

There is 193 days' delay in filing this appeal. In this application, the Appellant has prayed that delay in filing the appeal be condoned. We have heard learned counsel for the parties. Learned counsel for the Appellant has contended that sufficient cause has been made out and the delay may be condoned. On the other hand, learned counsel for the State Commission and learned counsel for Respondent No.3 have strenuously opposed the condonation of delay. Having regard to the issues involved in

this appeal, we are of the opinion that delay needs to be condoned after saddling the Appellant with costs quantified at Rs.25,000/-. There are certain allegations made against the counsel who appeared for Respondent No.3 and also for the State Commission. We make it clear that we have not expressed any opinion on those allegations. We shall deal with them in case the appeal is admitted at the stage of final hearing. Hence delay is condoned on the condition that the Appellant pays cost of Rs.25,000/- to "SAI DEEP DR. RUHI FOUNDATION, A/CNO. 952663443, A-508, SECTOR 19, NOIDA, 201301" within four weeks from today. Needless to say that if the costs are not paid, the appeal shall be dismissed.

After receiving the compliance report, registry is directed to number the appeal.

List the matter on **20.09.2017.** 

(I.J. Kapoor) **Technical Member** pr/kt

(Justice Ranjana P. Desai) Chairperson